Showcasing the pre-eminent art collection in Western Australia

Peter Blaxell to chair Perth Theatre Trust board

18 Dec 2012

Culture and the Arts Minister John Day today announced two new board members of the Perth Theatre Trust (PTT).

Mr Day welcomed retired Supreme Court judge, the Hon. Mr Peter Blaxell as the new chairman of the trust. Lawyer Morgan Solomon has been appointed for three years, while Helen Cook and Max Kay have been reappointed for three years. 

“The trust has been through a time of significant growth, including the addition of the State Theatre Centre of Western Australia and the Albany Entertainment Centre,” he said.

“The skills Mr Blaxell and Mr Solomon bring to the board will assist the trust to consolidate its position and fully adjust to the past year’s changes, including the decommissioning of BOCS.

“I also thank Dr Saliba Sassine who has decided to retire as chairman of the PTT board after five years’ service. 

“I recognise the work Dr Sassine has done in creating a strong strategic plan which will continue to assist the trust as it plans for the future.”

Mr Blaxell was a member of the Supreme Court from 2005-11 and is currently deputy chairman of the Special Air Service Resources Trust.

Mr Solomon is a partner at Perth law firm BBV, heading up the Commercial and Estates team. A third generation lawyer, he completed his honours thesis in Fine Art at The University of Western Australia before taking up law.

The PTT board comprises Peter Blaxell (chairman); Morgan Solomon; Helen Cook, Max Kay; City of Perth councillors Rob Butler, Janet Davidson and Jim Adamos; and Allanah Lucas (ex-officio).

PTT is responsible for the management of the State Theatre Centre of WA, His Majesty’s Theatre, Perth Concert Hall, Subiaco Arts Centre and Albany Entertainment Centre

More information at