Showcasing the pre-eminent art collection in Western Australia

Authors can book place in Premier’s awards

08 Dec 2011

Culture and the Arts Minister John Day today called for entries in the 2011 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards.

“The Western Australian Premier’s Book Awards, now into its 30th year, enables the celebration of the best writers and publishers in this country,” Mr Day said.

“The awards have historically attracted a high calibre of entries, with Miles Franklin Award and Oscar winners among the contending authors.

“The Premier's Prize of $25,000 is presented to the overall winner - chosen by the judges from the category winners - on top of prize money received for their category. 

“The State Government through the State Library has made the prize pool available for the awards.”

The awards and prize money for each category are: Fiction ($15,000), Non-Fiction ($15,000), Children's Books ($15,000), Writing for Young Adults ($10,000), Poetry, Scripts ($10,000), West Australian History ($10,000), and the Digital Narrative Award ($5,000), which recognises the use of new media in storytelling/writing.

The popular People’s Choice Award ($5,000) to select the favourite book from the shortlist in one category will again be held for these awards.
To be eligible, authors must be citizens or permanent residents of Australia, or their work must have Australia as its primary focus. 

The closing date for entries is 5pm Tuesday January 31, 2012. 

Fact File

  • Entries for 2011 awards are open and online entry form and guidelines can be found at State Library of Western Australia’s website
  •  Short listed entries will be announced June 2012.  Winners announced late August 2012